Asia Cup: Cricket’s Answer to the World Cup

  • Share
  • Read Later

Are you sick of all the #worldcup and #vuvuzela hashtags cluttering your Twitter feeds?

There is an alternative, happening simultaneously to the World Cup in South Africa. Cricket — the game of runs, wickets, bowlers, googlies, bats and overs and the world’s second most popular team sport (after soccer) — kicked off one of its marquee events on Tuesday. The Asia Cup 2010 (no affiliation with FIFA) started with Sri Lanka playing against Pakistan. Pakistan lost by 16 runs.

Countries playing in the Asia Cup 2010 are India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. Hong Kong and UAE — typical participants in the competition — are sitting it out this year. Sri Lanka comes into the tournament as the defending champs, winners of the 2009 Asia Cup against India.

There are six matches remaining.  All games will take place in Dambulla, Sri Lanka

Game Schedule:

  • June 15:  Sri Lanka and Pakistan (Sri Lanka won)
  • June 16:  Bangladesh and India
  • June 18: Sri Lanka and Bangladesh
  • June 19: India and Pakistan
  • June 21: Bangladesh and Pakistan
  • June 22: Sri Lanka and India
  • June 24: Final match

Founded in 1983 to promote goodwill between Asian countries, the Asia Cup has been cancelled in the past due to strained political relations between India and Pakistan.